Republic Of South Africa

Our History

Local Councils

Council founded

In 1994 Middelburg and Mhluzi, as well as Hendrina and Kwazamokuhle amalgamated to form the Transitional Local Councils
Local Government

Building of our local councils

In 2001, a new dispensation for Local Government came into being, whereby the country was demarcated so that every piece of land fell within the jurisdiction of a municipality. The number of local governments were also reduced and the Transitional Local Councils of Middelburg and Hendrina, as well as some smaller towns, were amalgamated. A new municipality was formed, namely Steve Tshwete Local Municipality. The municipal area covers approximately 3993 square kilometers and includes the following towns:

  • Middelburg
  • Mhluzi
  • Hendrina
  • Kwazamokuhle
  • Rietkuil
  • Pullenshope
  • Komati
  • Presidentsrus
  • Naledi
  • Lesedi
  • Kranspoort
  • Blinkpan
  • Koornfontein
  • Kwamakalane
  • Doornkop

  • This is a category B municipality comprising of 58 councillors of whom 29 are ward representatives and 29 proportional representatives. The executive Mayor assisted by 6 members of the Mayoral Committee, the Speaker and the Chief Whip heads the municipality. The Municipal Manager heads the administration.