Republic Of South Africa

Background of Steve Tshwete Local Municipality

Middelburg was originally established in 1866 and named Nazareth by the Dutch Reformed Church. In 1872 it was renamed Middelburg, as it was the halfway point between Pretoria and Mashishing (Lydenburg) in the Mpumalanga highveld.

A merger of Middelburg, Mhluzi, Hendrina, and Kwazamokuhle in 1994 created the Transitional Local Councils. A new local government system was established in 2001, and the country's boundaries were drawn so each piece of land belonged under its respective jurisdiction. The Steve Tshwete Local Municipality became the new municipality. The towns that make up the municipal area, which has a total size of around 3993 square kilometres, include Middelburg, Mhluzi, Hendrina, Kwazamokuhle, Rietkuil, Pullenshope, Komati, Presidentsrus, Naledi, Lesedi, Kranspoort, Blinkpan, Koornfontein, Kwamakalane, and Doornkop.

The Steve Tshwete Local Municipality is one of the larger B municipalities in the Nkangala District. It has 58 council members, including 29 ward representatives and 29 proportionate representatives. The leader of the municipality is the Executive Mayor, who is aided by the Speaker, the Chief Whip, and six other Mayoral Committee Members. The Municipal Manager leads the administration.

Meet Council Members

Our Achievements


First Runner-up Arbor City Award Competition


Clean Audit Award


Mpumalanga Greenest Municipality Champions


Clean Audit Award

Click here to view more >>

Our Coat of Arms

This Coat of Arms was adopted by the Steve Tshwete Local Municipality in April 2001. It depicts an African shield with the walls on top indicating that we are a municipality. The rising sun shows that we are in Mpumalanga. The blue depicts our water resources whilst the green, black diamonds and the wheel at the top refer to the main economic activities namely, agriculture, coal mining and industry, respectively. The leaves on the sides are those of a cycad species, only found in Middelburg area. The word 'Masakhane', appearing at the bottom, was specifically chosen because it clearly summarises the manner in which challenges are addressed by all role players within the municipality.